Singapore and Rwanda sign tax treaty

2 September 2014 

Singapore and Rwanda signed an Agreement for the Avoidance of Double Taxation (DTA) on 26 August 2014. The DTA includes the internationally agreed Standard for the exchange of information for tax purposes. 

The withholding tax rates under the treaty are as follows:

  • Dividends — 7.5%.
  • Interest — 10%. Exempted from tax if paid between the relevant government authorities of the contracting states.
  • Royalties — 10%. 

The DTA is awaiting ratification and does not have the force of law. The full text of the DTA is available on the IRAS website. 

Source: Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS)